Dashboards

The Dashboards app centralizes pre-configured dashboards that display real-time data from the database, giving an overview of key business metrics without having to open each app’s reporting views.

Depending on their access rights, users can:

Consult dashboards

On the main Dashboards page, the left panel lists all dashboards a user has access to, grouped by section. Clicking on a dashboard name opens that dashboard in the main part of the page.

Tip

Clicking the (double chevron) icon at the top of the left panel collapses the panel, maximizing the space available for dashboards.

Standard dashboards

Depending on which apps are installed, a series of standard dashboards is available by default, e.g., for Sales, Invoicing, Inventory, Expenses, or Point of Sale. These pre-configured dashboards present data on specific aspects of the topic in tables and charts, while dashboard-specific filters allow users to tailor the view to their needs.

Example

Within the Sales section in the Dashboards app, the Sales dashboard gives an overview of the number of quotations and orders, the revenue, and the average order value, as well as a chart showing monthly sales. It also includes tables listing top quotations and sales orders, top-performing products and salespeople, and top countries served.

A series of pre-configured global filters at the top of the dashboard allows the entire dashboard to be filtered by, e.g., product or sales team. A default value of Last 90 days in the period filter means data from the previous 90 days is automatically retrieved every time the dashboard is opened or refreshed.

screenshot: productivity-dashboards-sales
menu
Dashboards ‣ Dashboards
shows
The Sales dashboard open in the Dashboards app, with the section list in the left panel, the KPI row at the top, the monthly sales chart and the global filters.
data
Demo company "YourCompany HU" with sales data over the last 12 months.
module
spreadsheet_dashboard, spreadsheet_dashboard_sale
notes
English UI, light theme, 1440px width.

Note

Standard dashboards are read-only. Their underlying spreadsheets cannot be edited in this database; to build your own dashboards, use the Custom dashboards.

Interact with dashboards

In addition to consulting a dashboard for a high-level overview of key business data, it is also possible to interact with the dashboard for a more detailed analysis:

  • Filter data: Most standard dashboards have one or more global filters, shown as dropdown menus, at the top of the dashboard. These filters apply to all the data on the dashboard at the same time, for example, to show data only for a specific period of time, or for one or more salespeople or customers.

  • Open underlying database records: To access database records referenced by a dashboard, click on the relevant value in a table or on a data point on a chart. Doing so opens either the individual record, or, in the case of charts or tables displaying consolidated data, a list of the referenced records.

  • Open underlying database views: To access the view from which the data for a specific chart or table is retrieved, click on the title of the chart or table. Doing so opens the corresponding list view, pivot view, or graph view.

Tip

To return to a dashboard after drilling down to underlying records or views, click the Dashboards breadcrumb at the upper left of the page.

Configuration

Note

Only a user with the appropriate access rights can configure dashboards and dashboard sections.

To manage dashboard sections, go to Dashboards ‣ Configuration ‣ Dashboards. The following actions are possible at the level of dashboard sections:

  • Change the order of dashboard sections by using the (drag handle) icon to move a section to a new position.

  • Duplicate a dashboard section by selecting the relevant section name, clicking the Actions button, and then Duplicate. The dashboards within the section are not duplicated.

  • Delete a dashboard section by selecting the relevant section name, clicking the Actions button, then Delete.

    Tip

    Standard, pre-installed dashboard sections cannot be deleted; custom dashboard sections, on the other hand, can be deleted.

  • Create a new dashboard section by clicking New, then entering the section name.

Clicking on an individual dashboard section lists all dashboards within that section. The following actions are possible:

  • Change the order of a dashboard within its section by using the (drag handle) icon to move the dashboard to a new position.

  • Edit the name of a dashboard section or dashboard by clicking the name and modifying it.

  • Add or remove user groups to control access to the dashboard.

  • Select a company if, in a multi-company database, the dashboard should only be visible to users of one company. If this field is left blank, the dashboard is visible to all users with the appropriate access rights, regardless of which company is currently selected in the database.

  • Unpublish a dashboard by disabling the Is Published toggle. Unpublished dashboards are no longer listed in the left panel of the Dashboards app.

  • Delete a dashboard by clicking the (trash) icon.

    Tip

    A standard dashboard that is deleted is reinstalled when the corresponding app is updated.

screenshot: productivity-dashboards-configuration
menu
Dashboards ‣ Configuration ‣ Dashboards
shows
A dashboard section opened in Configuration, listing its dashboards with the drag handle, the Group column, the Company column and the "Is Published" toggle.
highlight
The "Group" and "Is Published" columns (red frame).
data
Section "Sales" with the standard Sales dashboard.
module
spreadsheet_dashboard
notes
English UI, light theme, 1440px width.

Access rights and sharing

Consulting dashboards

The right to view and interact with a dashboard is based on user groups, and is managed in the Configuration settings of the Dashboards app. Only users who are part of a group that has been granted access to a specific dashboard see that dashboard in the left-hand panel on the main Dashboards page.

However, the visibility of dynamic data within a dashboard is handled separately. This is based on a user’s access rights to the model from which the data has been retrieved, and takes into account any record rules that may restrict access.

Important

User permissions are taken into account when a user opens a dashboard, with the dashboard only being populated with data the user is authorized to see. This means that a user could in theory be able to view a dashboard but, due to a lack of appropriate permissions, not be able to see the data the dashboard’s creator intended to be displayed.

Therefore, it is crucial to take user permissions into consideration when granting dashboard access to groups.

Example

Granting the user group Sales / User: Own Documents Only access to the Sales dashboard would serve little purpose. While users belonging to that group would be able to view and interact with the dashboard, they would only see data related to their own sales, rendering the overall dashboard misleading.

To manage users’ rights to view and interact with a dashboard:

  1. In the Dashboards app, go to Configuration ‣ Dashboards.

  2. From the list of dashboard sections, open the relevant section.

  3. On the line of the relevant dashboard, in the Group column:

    • add a user group by clicking the field until a dropdown with user groups appears, then selecting the appropriate user group. In the dropdown, click Search More to access the full list of user groups;

    • remove a user group by clicking the relevant group name, then clicking (Delete).

Share dashboard snapshot

To share a frozen version of a dashboard with an internal user who does not have the appropriate access, or with an external party, click Share at the top-right of the page, then click the (copy) icon to copy a shareable link to the clipboard. Anyone with the link can open the read-only snapshot without logging in.